Packing up at work and low platelets

Yesterday, I went to work to pack up my personal things.  Since I will be away from work for a while, it only makes sense for me to vacate my office, so that someone else can use it.  It has been months since I saw my co-workers and it was quite emotional for me.  My colleagues have always been very kind and supportive of me throughout the years, even before my illness.  Now, they are rooting for me to get better.  Many of my colleagues have worked very hard to help me, such as getting my story onto the internal news bulletin and organizing a stem cell donor drive for me.  And many came out to support me at the stem cell donor drive this past Saturday.  You know who you are and I thank you all from the very bottom of my heart.  P.S. – I’m coming back so I’ll need that office back some day…

My most recent health issue has been extremely low platelets.  The normal range for platelets should be 150 – 400 (x 109 per litre).  Mine was 22.  So, my blood was unable to clot.  This is very dangerous should I cut myself, for example.  And luck would have it that I did have a small cut that day and it took hours for it to clot.  Thank goodness it was a very small cut. 

Dr. Yee told me to stop my medication (Gleevec) for 2 days, to see if the Gleevec was the cause of my low platelets or whether it was caused by the leukemia itself.  As you can imagine, stopping Gleevec is very scary for me, as my leukemic cells could go crazy during this “time off” and there is also the risk of developing resistance to Gleevec.  But, it was only for 2 days, and I would see Dr. Yee again tomorrow for additional monitoring.  So, I did as I was told.  My fingers are double crossed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Packing up at work and low platelets

  1. Maggie Bien says:

    Winnie, add oil!!!!! I look forward to meet you in HK !!!!!

  2. Lucina Chao says:

    Winnie, thanks for sharing your experience. Your grace and courage is admirable! Will continue to pray for your full recovery.

  3. Tiffany says:

    I prayed to God for the words to say to you and HE answered me this. I don’t know if it is relative but I guess HE may want to tell you this. “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone.” (psalm 62:5) From the book of Streams in the Desert, it interprets as our prayer is like a seed planted in the soil. It is growing but we don’t see it. It is like dead. We and my friends will continue to pray for the miracle so that HIS love to you and to your family will be revealed. 🙂 Add oil!

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Thanks, Tiffany! So nice to hear from you!!! Thank you so much for your help behind the scenes. God bless you and your family. I know He is here with me, supporting me.

Leave a Reply

