Bone marrow biopsy

I was at PMH yesterday for my consultation with Dr. Yee.  My blood  counts are abnormally low, despite being on a reduced dose of Gleevec (400mg).  

WBC = 2.4 (normal is 4 – 11 bil/L cubed)
platelets = 26 (normal is 150 – 400 bil/L)
hemoglobin =  85 (normal is 120-160g/L)
neutrophils = 1.2 (normal is 2.0 – 7.5 bil/L)

Because of these extremely low counts, I am unable to fight infections properly, have shortness of breath and fatigue, and my blood will have a hard time clotting, among other things.  So, Dr. Yee did a bone marrow biopsy, hoping that the results will provide some answers.  In the meantime, it’s another 7 days of waiting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bone marrow biopsy

  1. Tiffany says:

    “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (matthew 11:28-29)
    Believe in Him! 🙂

  2. Edna Ho says:

    Hi Winnie: This is Edna. Haven’t had the chance to know you yet! I’m waiting for you to come back to HK so that we’ll get to know each other eh! Be hopeful for tomorrow & smiling brightens your day. I’ve been reading Dr. David Servan-Schreiber’s book on “Anticancer A New Way of Life”. Check out the YouTube on his speech for a quick review:

    Also another YouTube on research for #1 Anticancer Vegetable

    We all have our homework to do this & next life. Learning is never ending. But as long as we have faith & hope in our heart, there’s nothing to fear. God bless you!

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Hi Edna,

      Thank you so much for all the research you’ve been doing on my behalf. It is very helpful and means a lot to me. I can’t wait to be well enough to go to HK to get to know you more. I am sure that day will come. Thank you!

  3. Jennifer Leve says:

    I hope you got those answers, and that the results were favourable.

    Thinking of you!

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Hi Jen! So nice to hear from you. The results did come back and they are favourable. See my post of December 1 for details. Hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

