My first transfusion

Winnie - December 2012

Winnie – December 2012

OK, this post is about my first transfusion, but before we get to that, I’m going to finally show you my new “do”.  Its been over a week since I got my hair cut and I think I’m used to it now.  Here is a picture I took when I was out shopping at Sporting Life in Toronto.  Oh yeah, I’m wearing a new pair of glasses too.  Looks like my old pair but they are different.

So, yesterday (Dec. 7), I went to PMH in the morning for a blood test to see if I really needed a transfusion.  The blood test came back indicating my hemoglobin and platelets were indeed extremely low and the charge nurse recommended either 1 or 2 bags of red blood cells and definitely 1 bag of platelets. 

Bag of platelets - they are yellow!!!

Bag of platelets – they are yellow!!!

So, after waiting for them to “prepare” the blood products, I was brought into a private room with a bed and was asked to lie down.  An IV was started in my wrist area, and they began infusing me with saline and platelets.  As this was my first time, they also monitored my vitals regularly during the infusion.    After the platelets were done, they infused me with saline and red blood cells.  Each bag of blood products takes approximately 1.5 – 2 hrs.  to infuse.  We didn’t really have time for a second bag of blood so we left it at that.

OMG, the day was soooo long!  Other than the time required for the transfusion, there was a lot of waiting (e.g., waiting for blood test results, waiting for the blood to be prepared, etc.).  Thank God for the ipad and Kindle!  We got to PMH at 10:30am and didn’t leave until close to 6:00pm (not including travel time and traffic!)  I was sooo tired.  And the whole process is to be repeated on Tuesday! 

Luckily, I didn’t feel any side effects, so I think I am good on that front.  No fever, no chills, no rashes.  Of course, if I should develop a disease from the transfusion, I wouldn’t know until months later, but for now, I’m good.

I am feeling grateful today.  I thank God that my first transfusion went smoothly and my leukemic cells are still under control.  I have faith that things will work out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My first transfusion

  1. Eunice says:

    The new do and glasses look good Winnie! 🙂
    I’m really glad that your outlook is so positive – I also believe that things will work out. Praying for strength and healing.

  2. Hanna says:

    Glad the transfusion was (almost) painless, how about bringing movies? Maybe some popcorn? Haha I’ve got tons of chick flicks on a hard drive 😉 praying for tuesday! Xoxo

  3. Edna Ho says:

    Hi Winnie: You look fashionable with your new hair style! Another book you might want to look into is called “YOU CAN CONQUER CANCER Prevention and Management” by IAN GAWLER. I learned about this book from Dr. David Servan-Schreiber’s “Anticancer A New Way of Life”. There are so much we have yet to learn. But have hope and faith!

  4. Honey Amy says:

    Love your new style… I mean cool haircut…! Hope to see u soon…!

Leave a Reply

