Another uneventful week

This was another uneventful week, which is the best kind of week I can ask for these days.   Had my weekly blood test done this past Tuesday and the results were GREAT!  All counts normal, except for WBCs, but that’s OK.  I pray that the medication continues to work its wonders.   

I went to Toronto Western Hospital yesterday, to see a plastic surgeon about the removal of a cyst on the back of my neck.  The cyst is about the size of a ping pong ball.  It’s ugly, but it’s not cancerous and really nothing to worry about if I’m healthy.   However, it is a possible source of infection, and I don’t need any sources of infection, especially when I undergo chemotherapy and bone marrow transplant in the future, so we thought it would be best to get rid of it now.  So, the operation is a minor one, scheduled for next Wednesday. 

I also have an impacted wisdom tooth, which would also be a possible source of infection when my immune system is down.  I should ask Dr. Yee if I should remove that now as well, since I’m doing relatively well.  I want to eliminate all known risks right now, before my transplant.

No news about a suitable donor yet, but I must admit that thoughts of the transplant, and the risks involved, are starting to scare me now.  I feel so normal now, but I know that when a donor is found, I’ll need to be brought very close to death’s door in order to be cured.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another uneventful week

  1. Hanna says:

    My prayers are with you for your operation on Wednesday ❤ Stay strong and keep your head up high! You're truly an inspiration to us all

  2. Eunice says:

    Glad to hear you’re doing well Winnie! Wishing you a speedy recovery after getting that ping pong ball removed. 🙂

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Eunice, thank you! It turned out not to be quite as big as a ping pong ball, but it was ugly…But thanks again for your well-wishes and all your help! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

