Robin Roberts – bone marrow transplant SURVIVOR!!!

Robin Roberts at the Oscars, February 24, 2013 in Hollywood, California.

Robin Roberts at the Oscars, February 24, 2013 in Hollywood, California. Photo courtesy of the Huffington Post.

I am watching the Oscars right now, as I am writing this post.  I couldn’t wait till tomorrow to write this, cause I’m so pumped.  Why, you might ask?  Cause I just saw Robin Roberts looking stunning in a blue velvet dress on the red carpet, talking to celebrities.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with Robin Roberts, she is the anchor of Good Morning America and she also walks the red carpet during the Oscars’ pre-show, talking to celebs.  What is so amazing with this picture is that she was diagnosed with myelodysplastic  syndrome (MDS), a preleukemia, about a year ago.  And she underwent a bone marrow transplant, with her sister as the donor, in September 2012.  And look at her now!!!

Knowing that people do make it through this really gives me hope and seeing Robin doing so well, so soon after her transplant brings tears to my eyes. 

I encourage you to view some of the videos about Robin’s journey.  As I tearfully watched her videos, it was obvious that our experiences are very similar, even though I do not know her and we couldn’t be more different.  I felt like I was watching myself in her videos.  I pray for her continued recovery.  Here’s a link to her site: http://gma.yahoo.com/robin/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Robin Roberts – bone marrow transplant SURVIVOR!!!

  1. Eunice says:

    This is going to be you in a few months Winnie!!!! Sometimes it takes inspiration from others who really understand what you’ve been going through. I’m glad you’ve found this to keep you strong. 🙂

  2. helpsavewinnie says:

    Yes, I agree. This will be me soon. I’m counting down the days.

Leave a Reply

