2 days to admission

Only 2 days left to admission.  I’ve already packed all the things that I’ll need for the hospital in a suitcase and a carry-on bag, like I was going on vacation.  I don’t know what I’m feeling like today.  I think there’s too many emotions and I just can’t figure out what they are.  I don’t like how I’m having flashbacks though…Leslie Cheung, anyone???

My little man, Huey, in the front and his sister, Zoey, in the back

My little man, Huey, in the front and his sister, Zoey, in the back

I’m worried about my dogs.  The eldest, Huey, is a very sensitive little man (of the canine variety).  He’s acting up physically, with bouts of diarrhea, vomitting and coughing.  I think he knows what’s going on, that I’m going away for a while and they’ll be living with their paternal grandparents, and he doesn’t like it one bit.  He’s known to act up like this and get all depressed whenever Daniel and I go on vacation.  I hope he’ll be ok.  I’ve asked Daniel and his parents to give him extra attention, hugs and kisses while I’m away.  I’ve also asked his sister, Zoey, to take care of him for me and as far as I can tell, she’s agreed.   

I got an email from the transplant co-ordinator today.  She told me all my tests have come back and I am cleared for the transplant.  That’s good, I guess. 

Daniel’s out right now getting me a keyboard for my (his actually) iPad.  I can’t stand typing on the iPad itself, as it is slow, and I type fast – LOL.  I’ll be using it to update my blog at the hospital. 

I’m hearing stories from past and current transplant patients about how life in the hospital might be like – about the nurses, doctors, and other patients.  They tell of how one patient went to sleep one night and woke up the next morning in Depends (LOL), how another patient woke up one morning with a fellow-patient standing over her and looking at her all weird (freaky), and how some decorated their rooms to make it feel more like home.  I’m waiting until I get admitted to see how my neighbours are decorating their rooms before I start work on mine : )  And yes, I get a private room (with special filters) with a private bathroom.  You know it’s serious when the government of Ontario covers a private room…I hope it has a window!

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to post tomorrow, as I will be sore from the insertion of my Hickman Line.  Soooooo, my next post will probably be from the hospital!  Hope to see you soon!

[Aside: Oh, how I miss sushi, sashimi, sake, red wine, rare rib steak, cruising, diving, 4 inch heels, and the Income Tax Act – yes, even the Income Tax Act!]

Yup, that's me, diving in Roatan

Yup, that’s me, diving in Roatan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2 days to admission

  1. Sandy says:

    Add oil! Praying for you!

  2. Edna Ho says:

    Hope I’m in time for you to receive my blessing! I’ve been away for Easter holidays with my family in Tw. Since I had on & off WiFi access abroad, I haven’t seen your blog for few weeks now. I’m shocked to learn that you’ll be hospitalized this soon. My daughter just had a tooth surgery last Sat. She was really brave. We both were. You’re absolutely right! We’re all responsible for our own health. However, whatever past was past. We look forward to our hopes. No matter what the outcome would be, at least we live as what we believe. It’ll be tough to go through, but that’s why we could taste the real sweetness from bitter. Wish you & Daniel celebrate your 10th anniversary soon!

  3. Honey Amy says:

    Keep it up, honey! U r doing a great job “BE +ve”. … Btw, where is Bowie? We miss the trio!
    We love U … always & forever! Stay/& be STRONG!
    Can’t wait to see U!
    Cheers,
    Baby A. , mommy A. & daddy A.

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Hi Amy,

      LOL, Daniel says I am “peen sum” because I posted a picture of Huey and Zoey, but not Boey. Reality is I couldn’t find a picture that I liked with all 3 them. I promise to post one next time so as not to be a bad mommy!

      Thanks for your support! I’ll see you guys very soon!

      Winnie

Leave a Reply

