Day+1

I know many of you were praying for me over the past few days, and rooting for me, and sent me lots of messages. I was feeling horrible and was not able to get back to any of you. I’m sorry.

Starting on Chemo Day 2, I suffered severe nausea and vomitting. This continued for all the Chemo Days and Radiation Day. Then on Day 0, when they infused the donor stem cells inside of me, I couldn’t breathe, I heated up, had severe nausea, diarrhea and vomitting, all at once. It was the toughest couple of days in my life. They gave me a steroid to control my uncontrollable vomitting and that seems to have helped some.

Today, I woke up feeling a little bit better than my previous few days. I don’t know how long this will last so I’m taking this opportunity to give an update.

They tell me I got sick from the chemo and radiation earlier, and much more acutely compared to other patients. Just my luck. My stem cells arrived on the 23rd but they were not infused until the 24th, beginning at about 11:00am. I literally thought I was going to die because I began to heat up and couldn’t breathe.

They tell me I will continue to feel like crap for a couple more weeks, when my blood counts drop and then rebound again. Once they are rebounding, I should feel better, but they told me they have no idea when this will be as everyone’s body reacts differently.

I really wanted to stop fighting. I really did. I have only been here under a week and I was already going out of my mind, scheming to get out of here. Please pray that the next couple of weeks will not be too bad and that it will past quickly. I know there will be bumps in the road, but please pray for me that I can handle them. Thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Day+1

  1. Jodi says:

    Hi Winnie, thank you very much for giving us all these updates of your condition despite the fact that you’ve been feeling sick with the transplant. Please don’t push yourself too hard for the need to write the updates if you’re not feeling well. We’re all behind you in this and we send our very best wishes to you on your road to recovery. We know you can do it!

  2. Helen williams says:

    Hi Winnie,hope youve had the last of the crappy days.onwards and upwards.Praying for you.xx

  3. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Winnie – it is perfectly normal to try and get out of there…I wasn’t even done my chemo when I told my Dr. that “I was done and not doing anymore” He then calmly told me that it was too late to be done and if I quit now I would be dead very soon…I am sending you a link to a video I want to watch and bookmark on your computer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sA8PaIw5gcE it’s to a video called Swim written and sung by a leukemia patient – when you feel like your drowning and you can’t go anymore – watch this video – it was very instrumental in getting me through some of my toughest days and I still watch it when the days get tough – YOU CAN DO THIS WINNIE!! I know you can…hang in there – take each day a minute at a time and YOU WILL GET THROUGH IT!!

    sending prayers and good thoughts for better days ahead…take all the meds you can to keep the nausea at bay and make sure to do your mouth care – it’s really important!!

  4. Margaret Hutter says:

    Hi Winnie – not only will you make it through the next few weeks, you’ll be a much stronger person! You are always in my thoughts and your strength will always be an inspiration. I have no doubt in my mind that everything will work out and we’ll be having our next cup of coffee sooner than you think!

  5. Clare says:

    Winnie!- I cannot even imagine what you have been going through! But like Margaret said, you will make it through and you will be stronger!!

    You are such an easygoing and flexible person, I have no doubt that the reaction is temporarily. Look forward to seeing you soon, very soon! Love you!!!

  6. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Winnie – are you still “swimming”??? Just keep your head above – NEVER GIVE UP!!!

  7. Helen williams says:

    Hi Winnie.been thinking of you.Hope all is ok and youre keeping strong.XX

  8. Gael says:

    Thinking of you every day and praying for you. It’s amazing to read your updates – take care… xx

  9. Kit Wong says:

    Hi Winnie
    I can imagine how you suffer, but I can say hard time will past and bright time will coming soon, pls be positive and I will pray for you!!!

  10. Chris says:

    Dear Winnie:
    Praying for you every day and please remember you are not the first one going through this and there are so many people survived! I know you can do it too!!!

  11. Sandy says:

    Dear Winnie, giving up is not an option! Don’t you dare think about it.I prayed for you and will continue to do so! There’s a lot of us out there who love, care and pray for you. Don’t underestimate our power! Stay strong!

  12. AWWW Winnie, So beyond thrilled to see you posting! You had me worried..I am glad the heating up issue stopped, as well as the breathing! YIKES! Rest is the best thing my friend! I sent up a ton of prayers, good wishes..whatever Karma I could muster, I sent them! The counts rising will make an amazing difference, you almost know before they get the blood tested! You just feel better..keep an eye on that and see if you can tell before they tell you!
    Lots and Lots of Love from Lubbock.
    Michelle~www.bmtsupport.org

  13. Helen williams says:

    Winnie,I hope things are getting better for you.Xxx

  14. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Has anyone heard from Winnie or know how she is doing…I am worried since there hasn’t been any postings in over a week…please share!! We at the http://www.bmtsupport.org chat site are worried about her…and want to lend our support if we can – thanks!

  15. Chris says:

    I am praying, and praying, and praying hard for you… Hope to hear from you soon.

  16. Sandy says:

    Praying for you Winnie. Stay strong. Keep fighting. We’re fighting with you.

Leave a Reply

