Day+12

Hi all. This is Winnie’s husband, Daniel, she don’t have enough energy to update her blog. So I just want to share how she is doing so far. 12 days after the transplant, the nausea and stomach cramps still bothering her. They give her pain killer to address the pain. But the side effect not only make her sleepier and develop hallucination. Even they reduce the dosage on her, she still dreaming a lot.

She also have blood and platelet transfusion a few times when her count were low. These two days her blood and platelet seems to start going back up, especially platelet jump a lot. The stem cell may working for her.

Few days ago her temperature went up to a warm side. They arrange her a CT scan in case of infection. The result back was she has a minor pneumonia. Fortunately the day before the CT scan they did give her antibiotic and is now under control.

She haven’t been able to eat for more than ten days now. The mouth sore problem cause her not to eat anything. When she try to swallow anything, it will make her want to throw up. She can only get vitamins and minerals throught the IV drip.

Last week her hair start to fall off and the nurse decide to shave her head, and now she has a new look. This is her first time shaving her head.

Not until the new white blood count start to grow, she is still suffering from the side effect of the chemo and radiation. We are looking forward to see her immune system go up and strong. Hopefully the new stem cell will keep making new and healthy blood. Thank You!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Day+12

  1. Daniel,
    Thanks so much for updating. I am so glad to hear things might be improving, count wise. Sorry about the pneumonia..hopefully it responds the antibiotics and she feels better. I am sure sorry she has the mouth sores..I was fortunate and only had 2.
    You are all in my thoughts and prayers.
    Lots of Love from Lubbock
    MIchelle~www.bmtsupport.org

  2. Jennifer Leve says:

    Daniel, I am glad you are updating Winnie’s blog. I have been checking every day to look for a new update as I was a little nervous not seeing anything. I sincerely hope that things are beginning to improve as you have suggested!!

    Take care,
    Jennifer

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Jen, thanks for the package. Will make good use of it for sure! Hope to post here more and more as I get better. Thanks!

  3. welshh1@hotmail.co.uk says:

    Thankyou for update.have been thinking of Winnie and wishing her well.Must be hard for you too.Keep strong both Im of for my transplant 27th may Due to my age, having the mini allogenic m.u.d donor .xx

  4. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Daniel – thank you so much for the update – I have been really worried. Winnie – you are a fighter and although it is hard right now its going to get better very soon. You should be engrafting any day now and your wbc will be getting higher and with that you will notice a big difference in how you feel. Mouth sores are the worst – I had them for 7 months post transplant – part of the stomach pain is from the medication…see if they can change some of the meds you are taking or try taking them at night so you can sleep through the nausea – know that I am praying for you!
    YOU CAN DO THIS!!! KEEP SWIMMING!

  5. Eunice says:

    Thanks for the update Daniel – tell Winnie I said hello and wish her well! I look forward to hearing more about how she’s doing. I’ll be praying for her!

  6. Terrilyn says:

    Daniel and Winnie, stay strong! Thank you for the update. I will be praying for you.

  7. Isaac says:

    Hi Daniel, thanks for your update, please say hi to Winnie for me and Queenie. She is always in my prayer!

  8. Richard Tang says:

    My continued support and prayers is here with you Winnie, Keep Fighting!

  9. Andrew Lai says:

    Thank you for update. I will be praying for you

  10. Chris says:

    Dear Daniel, thank you soooo much for the update. It must be extremely hard for both of you. Please hang in there & the stem cell will work ( she even shaved her hair for it)! We will continue to pray for her.

  11. Bill says:

    hello Winnie,
    just knew you had your stem cell transplant last month.
    I had ALL in 1998 and a stem cell transplant in 1999. thanks our Lord Jesus Christ for healing me and now i’m living a blessed life.
    May God give you His peace and faith. He is looking after you and you’ll be back on track very soon.
    Emmanuel!

Leave a Reply

