Day+35

It is 35 days since my transplant and I am getting stronger. My current issue is a urinary tract infection, most likely of the BK virus variety. Tests were done but came back inconclusive so they were redone. If you’ve ever had such an infection before, you know it’s painful! I’ll spare you all the gross details. I’m on meds for this so hopefully it will subside soon.

So I think I know what my life will be like in the next little while. Since I’m on medications that suppress my immune system, it’s very likely that I’ll get other infections. I’ll be monitoring this very closely and if something feels wrong, I’ll let my doctors know ASAP and get meds to treat it. This will go on for as long as I’m on the immune suppressing drugs. This, coupled with twice a week hospital visits and dealing with the infection of the day, will be my full time job for the next little while. I have no signs of GVHD yet.

As for the eating, I’m getting more and more solid foods in, but I still need them to be softer than normal. Everything still tastes funny though and that’s a real bummer to trying to gain weight. Nothing tastes good so I have no incentive to eat, but to sustain my life.

Some people have asked me whether the transplant was a success, whether I am “cured”. The answer is that we do not know. All the doctors were able to tell me was that if I should be alive in 2 years, my long term survival rate will rise to 80-90% from the current 40%. There are too many variables, like infections, relapse and other complications right now to say for sure if I’m “cured”. All I can do is stay positive and take one day at a time. And hope for the best.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day+35

  1. Hanna says:

    Yay!! Good to hear you’re getting stronger, even if it’s day by day 🙂 Just think about tasting your once favourite dishes soon!!!

  2. Margaret Hutter says:

    Hi Winnie – this is wonderful progress! We will continue to pray for your good health and yummy tasting food!

  3. Sandy says:

    So proud of you Winnie. Since the day ou found out about this disease, you have come an extraordinary long way. Continue to pray for perseverance, strength, peace, hope and faith. We love you!

  4. Lucina Chao says:

    Dear Winnie, so proud of you! It’s no doubt a difficult journey, but you have already come this far and overcome so much. You’re so right, yes, stay positive and take one day at a time. Just remember lots of people love you very much and cheering for you all along this journey, our Heavenly Father loves you even more and I’m sure He is with you every step of your way. My family and I will continue to pray for your full recovery. Peace and God Bless!

  5. welshh1@hotmail.co.uk says:

    Hi Winnie.I am now in hosp on day -8.Campath day 1.
    So glad to hear youre feeling better .I have a caringbridge site. helenwilliams if you would like to read.Take care.xxx

  6. Chris says:

    Dear Winnie:
    You are so extradinary! So proud of you and you should be very proud of yourself! I could not imagine the pain & difficulties you went through but I can feel your frustration. As you said yourself, stay positive, and take one day at a time – see you are reaching 40 days already – and you are getting stronger. I will continue to pray for you, for every strength you need.
    Send you a big hug and lots of love.

Leave a Reply

