Day+63

This is just a quick update to my previous post. Yesterday, I went to the hospital for a blood test and the results showed my white blood count has recovered somewhat. There was something wrong with the blood lab yesterday and the results of the neutrophils hadn’t come back before I left the hospital so I don’t know those results for sure but the doctor was satisfied that the increased WBC also meant that the neutrophils would have recovered somewhat. The doctor and I were very relieved by the results. It meant that I responded to the Neupogen shots and that’s a good thing.

So, my 60-day bone marrow biopsy will be delayed until Friday or next Tuesday. The doctor wanted a few more days for my blood counts to settle down before the biopsy so as not to get vague or confusing results. That’s fair.

OK, back to not thinking about any of this until my next hospital day. That is how I am coping these days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day+63

  1. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Coping in whatever way you can – is the best thing – and shame on your Dr for even talking about graft failure without being absolutely sure…sending prayers and good thoughts your way – I am sure it’s just the 60 day slump!!

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Hey Cheryl, so appreciate that you’re always the first to comment on my posts. Thank you! To be fair to the doctor, it was me who asked him the possible causes of my low neutrophils and he gave me the possibilities, so I don’t fault him for that. I find that the doctors at PMH are very straight forward and they never sugar-coat anything. In fact, I think they are sometimes too conservative.

      Doctor thinks my low neutrophils is probably due to the valganciclovir that I was on. Apparently, East Asians are very susceptible to myelosuppression on this drug, whereas other ethnicities are not. Who knew? I just found out from a doctor who has had extensive experience in South Korea dealing with post BMT patients. He said that in South Korea, it was very common, whereas here, it is much less so. The cause isn’t so important as long as it’s recovering though!

      Talk soon!

      Winnie

Leave a Reply

