Day+73

My PCR test results haven’t come back yet. And I just did my bone marrow biopsy this past Tuesday. These 2 tests combined will tell me what my disease status is. Sure it’s stressful waiting for the results but I try not to think about it. I just hope for the best.

In the meantime, I’m gonna write a post about my looks. Yup! My looks! This will be brutally honest and I would have been too embarrassed to write such a post a year ago. But after what I’ve gone through, my looks no longer matter that much. Don’t get me wrong, I still want my hair back, but it’s just that the way I look is not physically painful and won’t kill me, so I’m at peace with it. Although I’m still sensitive about going out and bumping into people I know. Maybe I’ll get over this soon.

Ok, here goes. Let’s start with my weight. I’m 40lbs lighter than my heaviest. So I am a lot skinnier but I think still acceptable to the eye, I think.

I have no hair where I’m supposed to have hair and hair where I’m not supposed to have hair. The latter is quite annoying. As expected, my head is bald due to the chemo, although there is very sparse stubble coming back in now, very slowly. My eyebrow is still there but my eyelashes are falling out. I don’t know if they will all fall out or not. The meds that I’m on is making me grow facial hair. Yuck! Apparently, the hairs will fall off when I stop taking the meds. But for now, I look like a monkey. Oh well…

My skin tone is quite a bit darker than my normal skin tone. Like a tan, but a bad blotchy tan with a grayish cast. I hate this. My feet are shades darker than other parts of my body and there are darker and lighter blotches all over. You get the picture. As my skin cells replace themselves my skin tone should return to normal, hopefully. I just don’t know how long this will take.

So, those are the major things about the way I look that you will notice now. There may be other changes in the future as I take other meds, but we’ll leave that for when it happens.

In the meantime, I pray that my PCR and bone marrow tests come back with no detectable CML cells, and that my WBC, RBC, and neutrophils start to recover.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day+73

  1. bdworman says:

    Lots of love and prayers from Lubbock!!
    Michelle~www.bmtsupport.org

  2. clare says:

    Hi Winnie, like your good sense of humor and keep your spirit up!

    Clare

Leave a Reply

