Day+176

***SIGH***

Yesterday, I went to PMH and saw Dr. Lipton. The PCR test result wasn’t back yet, so we didn’t have any definitive answers on that front. However, my bloodwork yesterday tended to indicate that my GVHD flare wasn’t that strong, and so any associated graft vs. leukemia effect wouldn’t have been strong enough to kill the remaining CML cells. So, Dr. Lipton advised to start Gleevec at 400mg – he didn’t want to wait around any longer. No, the word “relapse” wasn’t used, but all the signs were there…

Talk about kicking a girl when she’s down…yup, that girl’s me. Guess what’s happened to me over the past couple of days? My eyebrows and eyelashes started to fall out. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? NOW? ALMOST 6 MONTHS AFTER MY CHEMO/TRANSPLANT??? F*CK! F&CK! F^CK! It was only a straw that broke the camel’s back.

***SIGH***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day+176

  1. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Winnie – it’s good to hear that you have started on Gleevac – this will most likely get that last bit of CML cells out of your body…have they tested your Chimerism (percentage of donor cells) I wouldn’t say relapse until that test is done…it could be that the transplant just didn’t get all the cells swimming around in your body…as for the eyebrows – it’s most likely because you stopped the cyclosporine – don’t panic

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Thanks, Cheryl. I had chimerism tested a few times – first 2 times was 99.5% donor, 3rd time was a little less but doctors didn’t think it was significantly less.

  2. Oh Winnie, I am so sorry all this is going on. I know it is difficult to take. Know that I am sending lots and lots of love and prayers from Lubbock!

Leave a Reply

