Day+192

There isn’t much change in my situation since last post. I am still taking Gleevec, albeit at a reduced dose (300mg) due to low blood counts. The doctor is monitoring my blood on a weekly basis. So far, my blood isn’t showing anything that says Gleevec isn’t working. Simple bloodwork isn’t very good at detecting what is happening at a molecular level though. You need the more sensitive PCR test for that. However, I can get that test done only once every three months – I suppose it’s an OHIP restriction more than anything. So, I really don’t know what’s really happening inside of me at a molecular level. Not until my next PCR test. That kind of sucks, but maybe that’s just the way it is. I should find out if I can get that test done more often, even if I have to pay for it myself. A lot can happen in three months inside my body. Testing every three months seems risky to me…

Other than that, I’m doing “fine”. I’m still dealing with post-transplant issues, like very dry mouth, very dry skin, eyebrows that fell off just recently, low blood counts needing transfusions, low energy, etc…but I’m not currently in pain or suffering an active infection, which I am very grateful for.

My colleagues from work gave me a VERY generous gift the other day. It was SOOOO generous I kinda felt bad. I was very touched. I’m so lucky to have them as my colleagues. I just can’t wait to get back to work, although I know it might take some time.

Zoey’s been looking at me funny lately, as if she didn’t know who I was. She wouldn’t come to me when I asked her to. She just looked at me as if she didn’t recognize me. I’m kinda sad at that. My own dog doesn’t even know who I am anymore cause I have no hair, no eyebrows, and rarely touch her. She now thinks my father-in-law is her “mommy”! I feel so bad…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day+192

  1. Hey Winnie,
    Glad the gleevec is going good. I am sure it is unnerving not being able to know what is going on. Glad you are hanging in there!

  2. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Winnie – it is OHIP that restricts how often they do the PCR test – although your Dr. can override that for special circumstances – I know that when I was first diagnosed they did it every 6 weeks – if nothing is showing up in your weekly tests that is good…just keep on keeping on and through small steps you will be back to your old self very soon…as for the dog – I know its heartbreaking, but limited contact right now is best.

Leave a Reply

