Day+258 (8 months, 14 days)

To those people who think Toronto’s winter is too balmy to have multiple Canada Goose parkas: TRY STANDING OUTSIDE TODAY FOR 5 SECONDS AND WATCH YOUR FINGERS FALL OFF! Okay, that was dramatic, but you get the picture. (And FYI – I don’t own any Canada Goose, but today, I wish I did. I hear they’re WARM.)

Anyways, I’m off to a “not-so-good” start to 2014, medically-speaking. As I wrote in my last post (January 4), I have an infection at the exit site of my Hickman Line. Well, I was complacent and actually waited a few days before calling PMH yesterday to let them know of my situation. As soon as the PMH nurse found out, she basically told me to get my behind to the nearest Emergency ASAP! Apparently, an infected Hickman line could be very dangerous. Long story short, I am now hooked up to a fanny pack with a machine in it to administer IV antibiotics into my bloodstream periodically throughout the day. I am hooked up to this thing 24 hrs. a day and a homecare nurse will come to my home every day for the next 7 days to refill my antibiotics.

I’m grateful that I am not in pain or feeling unwell from this infection. It’s just more of an annoyance than anything, being hooked up to a machine 24/7. And I had to visit the Emergency at Markham Stouffville Hospital 3 times this week for follow-up. I don’t like going to Emergency. It’s a cesspool of germs even for the healthy. I have to be very careful.

Lesson learned: Winnie, you’re not out of the woods yet. Don’t be complacent! Continue to be careful!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day+258 (8 months, 14 days)

  1. Winnie, We have all your Canada Geese here in Lubbock…some of them are in my comforter as well! LOL I love it when they come each winter. It isn’t just a few either..you can hardly see the water in a few of our playa lakes. Because Lubbock is so flat, they dig collection pools in each neighborhood. Because when we get 5 drops of rain, we flood! LOL We will continue to take care of them for you all. Funny thing is, we have a number of domestic geese that swarm us when we go to feed them. In the fall, the Canada Geese ignore us, standoffish, but by Jan, they come running when you get out to feed them. They realize we aren’t so bad.
    Stay well

Leave a Reply

