Day+397 (1 year, 1 month, 2 days)

My apologies for not posting earlier…I got my PCR test results a few weeks back and I remain UNDETECTABLE for CML. I am currently being weaned off my meds for post-herpetic neuralgia (shingles pain) and so far, so good. My bloods remain stable and low, all as expected. I’m also currently trying to manage my medication side effects, which are mainly fluid retention and extremely dry skin at the moment. Of course, chronic fatigue is always an issue.

My doc felt some lumps and bumps on my body during my last exam, which resulted in me getting one diagnostic test after another, culminating in a breast biopsy. Man, did that hurt! My whole arm continued to hurt for a whole week afterwards. My doc is extremely careful with me, ordering diagnostic tests all the time, as my chances of getting other cancers are higher than the normal population, after what I’ve gone through. So better safe than sorry is the motto. Oh, the results came back negative but I was instructed to keep an eye on it.

I just found out the sad news of the passing of a fellow patient today. She had CML like me. She had her transplant one month after I had mine. She fought hard against GVHD and many, many infections, one after another. We encouraged each other to stay strong during the toughest of times. RIP, H.W., RIP. You will be dearly missed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day+397 (1 year, 1 month, 2 days)

  1. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Winnie so glad to hear that you remain undetectable!! Sorry to hear that you had to have the biopsy but as you said better safe than sorry. I too lost a fellow transplant friend last week. You may have met her in the chat site, her name was Christine – she and I went to college together and then found each other again in Hamilton during our post transplant check-ups

    We lose many on this journey…so glad that you are doing well

    • helpsavewinnie says:

      Sometimes we forget how dangerous this journey is, until we get hit with news of the passings of fellow fighters, and we are quickly brought back to reality.

      See you in chat soon!

  2. Vivian Wong says:

    Winnie,
    Carry on fighting. You are in my prayers, and the Bible Study group often asks how you are!
    We look forward to your joining us in the fall for the 2014 program!
    Vivian

Leave a Reply

