Day+435 (1 yr, 2 mos, 9 days)

Hello everyone!

I’m sure you have all noticed that the time between posts has been getting longer and longer. This is because things have been pretty stable over the past several months. I am still dealing with a whole host of medical issues, but nothing as “urgent” as last year.

Over the past several months, I’ve been feeling generally unwell – extreme fatigue (cannot even finish a shower in one go), shortness of breath, nausea, vomitting, headaches, dizziness, diarrhea, etc. Lots of issues that just won’t go away. My appetite is 50% of what it was in the first quarter of this year. My energy level is also only 50%, maybe even less.

Of course, I consulted with my doc at PMH, and had the usual blood tests to make sure everything was still ok. Results of the blood tests indicate that nothing was out of the ordinary, so basically, we don’t know what exactly is causing my issues. But then again, all of these symptoms could be side-effects of my medications, or a result of my low blood counts, or after-effects of my chemo/radiation/transplant combo. There’s just no way to pin it down. I continue to educate myself by reading medical journal articles and chatting with other transplant patients to exchange thoughts and ideas, to see if we can all improve the quality of our post-transplant lives.

I’m scheduled to see Dr. Lipton again in August. That’s when my next PCR test will be. I wonder if I’ll ever get used to this new life of mine!

PS. I dreamt of scuba diving the other day, but I don’t think I’m ready yet…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day+435 (1 yr, 2 mos, 9 days)

  1. Cheryl Thornton says:

    Winniw sorry you are not feeling up to par. It definitely could be the meds that you are taking – or this could just be the “new” you. Regardless, stay on top of it – but remember, if the Drs. are not concerned there usually is nothing to worry over – but only YOU know your body. I know that you dream of scuba diving again – so do what you can to make your body stronger – as hard as it seems, exercising really can make you feel better and less tired – it’s time to get brave and get back to doing and living.

Leave a Reply

